Officially a Spartan!

Hello, Realists!! Hope you all had a lovely weekend! And if you’re from Canada, I’m also hoping you had a great Canada Day yesterday!

This past Sunday, I participated in my first ever Spartan Race, and let me tell you, it’s definitely not my last!! What an experience it was! If you’re not sure exactly what it is, basically, it’s a dirty, dirty, and tiring, obstacle racing challenge. They have 3 different difficulties, and the one we did on Sunday was called the “Spartan Super” which is an 8+ mile, 20+ obstacle race. I believe ours ended up being close to 10 miles (15.5km) with, I think it was, 21 or some obstacles. My time; 4 hours and 26 mins!! :D

Going knee deep in mud (at times you were swimming in it), crawling under barbed-wire, and jumping over walls. Just a few of what we had to go through during this race. Let’s not forget the, I believe it was 100m, swimming we had to do. I think I nearly drowned! It was one of the last obstacles, so imagine you just finished running about 8 miles and now need to swim!! I literally had to doggy-paddle my way through. The lifeguard on his kayak was eyeing me the whole time, haha.

After all is said and done, I don’t regret any of it and honestly can’t wait until I run it again!! I feel like this race has now given me the motivation to run in any race I want, so thank you to the Spartan Race team!! I didn’t think I would ever mind being covered in mud, blood, cuts and bruises. :)

They have yet to post the professional pictures taken during the race, but here are a few Iphone pictures taken of me during the last couple of obstacles.

Have any of you Realists ever done a Spartan Race? Or know someone who has? Would you ever try? Tell me all about it!! Have a great day and stay classy!

photo 1 (3) Attempting to do the rings :Pphoto 5 (2) photo 5 (6) Can’t do an obstacle? Automatic penalty of burpees!! photo 1 (6) photo 4 (3) photo 3 (3) So classy ;)photo 3 (4) photo 5AROO!

5 Comments

Filed under Thoughts...

5 responses to “Officially a Spartan!

  1. Pota

    Woohoo!!!! My little Spartan!!! Way to go!

  2. Sarah

    Did you ever find more pics? :)

  3. Sarah

    I never click the box to notify me of follow-up comments! that’s why I never get it! haha! :P

Leave a Reply

